Horseshoe Bay’s Summit Rock will welcome a talented field to Hill Country for the Texas Golf Association’s 2013 State Four-Ball Championship May 17-19. This will be the first TGA Championship held at Horseshoe Bay’s newest, Jack Nicklaus designed, course. This par-72 layout will surely provide a wonderful challenge to those seeking to stake claim as the top Four-Ball team in Texas.


Opened in 2012, Summit Rock winds through 1600 acres of classic Texas Hill Country, providing beautiful views amongst the beautiful old oak trees and Lake LBJ. The course contains vegetation, creeks, streams, and a variation of terrain throughout its layout that makes for a unique playing experience for all golfers.


The State Four-Ball Championship is scheduled for 54 holes of Four-Ball Stroke Play with three divisions (Championship, Senior, and Super Senior). Each division will play from separate tees/yardages and a separate champion will be awarded in each division. The field will be cut to low 40 teams and ties at the completion of 36 holes.  (24 Championship, 10 Senior, 6 Super Senior)


Entries are open to male amateur golfers age 25 or older as of May 17, 2013, with a GHIN Handicap of 8.4 or less. To be eligible for the Senior Division, both players must be 55 or older as of the first round of tournament play. To be eligible for the Super Senior Division, both players must be 65 or older as of the first day of tournament play.


The 2012 State Four-Ball Championship held at the Crown Colony saw an exciting finish to crown a champion.  The team of John Bearrie and Aaron Hickman claimed their second straight Four-Ball title after a birdie on the final hole gave them a one shot victory over the team of Chris Davis and Ryan Kornmann.