The Women’s Texas Golf Assocication was formed in 1916 for the purpose of arranging for the first annual tournament.  The first Women’s State Golf Tournament was hosted later that year and won by Mrs. Edna Lapham from San Antonio.  Our inaugural champion was also well known on the national golfing stage, playing in the 1910 US Women’s Amateur Championship and reaching the semi-finals of the 1911 North-South Championship.

Mrs. Lapham was as dominant a force in her era as Texas has ever seen.  In the 1916 championship, she not only earned medalist honors, she never needed more than 12 holes to win any of her matches that year.  She continued her dominance for the next seven years – winning six championships and never losing a match (she did not participate in 1922).  In all, she won seven State Amateur Titles between 1916 and 1928.  Mrs. Lapham is a member of the Texas Golf Hall of Fame.