DALLAS – In 2008, the WTGA in correspondence with the LGPA/USGA Girls Golf Sites sponsored the very first Texas Challenge. The Texas Challenge is a statewide competition that is part of the Winners’ Program which is a golf and grades initiative. This particular program promotes golf as a life sport as well as the importance of education. Through the friendly competitiveness of the Texas Challenge, girls learn essential life values such as sportsmanship, honesty, and hard work.

This year, six different sites are anticipated to participate in the 2016 Texas Challenge. In past years, the Texas Challenge has taken place at multiple venues, but the First Tee of Greater Austin/Harvey Penick Golf Campus will be home to this year’s event. Each participating site will choose players based on their exceptional golf skills and love for the game. Girls will be divided into age divisions of 11 & under, and 12-17 years old to compete in a four-ball format. Overall, the Texas Challenge is a great opportunity for girls to celebrate the game of golf and put their hard work to the test.

The Texas Challenge not only encourages golf amongst young girls, but the event celebrates the late Toni Wiesner. At the age of 23, Toni Wiesner’s passion and love for golf began. Little did she know, however, that her name would influence the game of golf for years to come. Wiesner’s career began at Houston Baptist, and she was also a graduate of TCU. The list of accomplishments on the course is almost too many to count for Wiesner. She represented Texas four times on the USGA Women’s State Team, won the WTGA State Amateur Championship five times, and has the third “Most Wins” in WTGA history. Even though Wiesner’s accomplishments speak for themselves, Toni is celebrated for her attitude, sportsmanship, and love for the game of golf. At the conclusion of the Texas Challenge, the winning team will be presented with the Toni Wiesner Cup in her honor.

The 2016 Texas Challenge will take place on August 2 with the six following sites participating: Austin, Dallas, Houston, Longview, San Antonio and Waco. Last year, Houston was deemed the 2015 Texas Challenge champions, and we look forward to having them back to defend their title.