DALLAS – The Texas Golf Association is pleased to announce its 2019 Players of the Year. This year’s honorees are Chris Wheeler of Addison, Texas Men’s Player of the Year; Hanna Alberto of Kingwood, Texas Women’s Player of the Year; John Pierce of San Antonio, Texas Senior Player of the Year; Will Adams of Odessa, North Texas Player of the Year; and Broc Haymon of Pearland, South Texas Player of the Year presented by Impact Precision Golf.
The Legends Junior Tour, which operates under the TGA umbrella, also recently announced its 2019 Players of the Year. Shaheen Momin of Sugar Land won the Boys 15-18 award; Katy’s Lauren Nguyen was the LJT Girls 12-18 Player of the Year; and Grant Yerger of Driftwood took home the Boys 14 & Under honors.
To determine the winners in each category, the TGA and LJT utilize yearlong cumulative performance points systems, in which individuals earn points for top finishes in designated regional, statewide and USGA national championships.
Name: Chris Wheeler
City: Addison
2019 Results:

  • Texas Mid-Amateur (Won)
  • 110th Texas Amateur (2nd)
  • Texas Mid-Amateur Match Play (Semifinalist)
  • U.S. Four-Ball (36-hole co-medalists; Qualified for Match Play) 

Chris Wheeler of Addison, a longtime TGA competitor, started the 2019 season without a TGA title to his name. The former Tulane University standout consistently found himself in contention, but had never reached the winner’s circle.
In 2019, Wheeler broke through. After racking up Texas Men’s Player of the Year points with co-medalist honors at the U.S. Four-Ball, finishing runner-up at the 110th Texas Amateur and being a semifinalist at the Texas Mid-Amateur Match Play; Wheeler solidified himself atop the rankings with a win at the Texas Mid-Amateur.
Held at one of the state’s most difficult courses, Maridoe Golf Club, Wheeler was the only player in the field to finish under par. He carded rounds of 74-70-70 to claim the title by five strokes over the defending champion, Colby Harwell of San Antonio.
Name: Hanna Alberto
City: Kingwood
2019 Results:

  • 98th Women’s Texas Amateur (Won)
  • Women’s Stroke Play Championship (2nd)

Hanna Alberto of Kingwood didn’t raise any eyebrows when she earned Women’s Player of the Year honors. The senior at Sam Houston State University followed a runner-up finish at the Women’s Stroke Play Championship at Briggs Ranch in San Antonio with an incredible display of golf at the 98th Women’s Texas Amateur.
Alberto, regarded as a favorite entering the Women’s Texas Amateur, was the highest ranked player in the field. Despite the added pressure from high expectations, she delivered. Alberto never faced the 18th hole at Bent Tree Country Club until the final match against Southern Methodist University’s Kennedy Pedigo.
Alberto and Pedigo battled back-and-forth throughout the championship match; however, the Kingwood native secured the title with a two-putt birdie on the par-5 finishing hole. With the win, Alberto locked up Women’s Player of the Year honors.
Name: John Pierce
City: San Antonio
2019 Results:

  • Texas Senior Amateur (T2)
  • Texas Four-Ball (Senior Division, Won)
  • West Texas Amateur (Senior Division, 3rd)
  • South Senior Amateur presented by Impact Precision Golf (T5) 

Name: Will Adams
City: Odessa
2019 Results:

  • North Amateur (Won)
  • West Texas Amateur (T3)

SOUTH TEXAS POY presented by Impact Precision Golf:
Name: Broc Haymon
City: Pearland
2019 Results:

  • South Amateur presented by Impact Precision Golf (4th)
  • South Mid-Amateur presented by Impact Precision Golf (T5)
  • South Four-Ball presented by Impact Precision Golf (T13)

Name: Shaheen Momin
City: Sugar Land
2019 Results:

  • Collegiate Preview (Won)
  • Fall Challenge (2nd)
  • James A. Ragan Memorial (T3)
  • 93rd Texas Junior Amateur (T6)
  • Jackie Burke Cup South Team Member 

Name: Lauren Nguyen
City: Katy
2019 Results:

  • George Hannon Junior Invitational (2nd)
  • Flodder Financial Shootout (2nd)
  • North Texas Classic (T2)
  • 93rd Texas Junior Amateur (4th)

Name: Grant Yerger
City: Driftwood
2019 Results:

  • Jimmy Demaret Junior Classic (Won)
  • Lanny Wadkins Junior Championship (Won)
  • James A. Ragan Memorial (2nd)
  • Texas Junior Golf Alliance Invitational (T3)
  • Jackie Burke Cup South Team Member