Briefly: JT Pittman of Monahans won the 92nd West Texas Amateur after a final round 2-under-par 70 at Bentwood Country Club. The Midland College sophomore finished at 8-under overall and two strokes better than the field. Lewis Stephenson of Burleson won the Senior Division by two strokes after firing a 6-under 66 in the final round. Doug Hopton-Jones of Mansfield won the Super Senior Division by three strokes after rounds of 75-73-73.

1) JT Pittman                      Monahans          68-70-70 | 208
2) Jansen Smith                 San Angelo         74-69-67 | 210
3) Michael Heidelbaugh   Dallas                   72-67-73 | 212
T4) Robert Johnson           Abilene                71-71-72 | 214
T4) Collin Clark                   Midlothian          66-76-72 | 214
T4) Bryce Waters                Midland              71-73-70 | 214
T7) Kevin Liberto                Cypress                70-75-70 | 215
T7) Jack Anderson              Round Rock         72-70-73 | 215
T7) Will Adams                    Odessa                  70-77-68  | 215

Final Results

Golf Course: Founded in 1978, Bentwood Country Club is the centerpiece of a master-planned community located near the shores of Lake Nasworthy. Designed by Billy Martindale and Jeffery Blume, the golf course has all the elements of a classic parkland layout, including narrow fairways, numerous water hazards, prominent bunkering and large, undulating green complexes. When the wind blows, as it frequently does, Bentwood Country Club provides a stern challenge for even the most accomplished players. Final Round was contested at 7,051 yards.

Weather: The temperature reached 95 degrees with steady winds at 8 mph out of the south.

Winner’s Info: Pittman fired a 2-under 70 in the final round to post 8-under for the championship and win by two strokes. The Midland College sophomore remained at the top of the leaderboard throughout the entirety of the championship and carded red numbers in all three of his rounds. Although Smith gave it a good run carding a 5-under-par 67 in his final round, Pittman maintained his composure and never lost the lead. He carded five birdies and fired 1-under-par 35s on each nine in his final round. This is Pittman’s first West Texas Amateur win.

“I really tried not to think about anybody else, I just tried to just play the golf course one shot at a time and make as many birdies as I could,” Pittman said. “A lot of great players have played against me this week, hats off to them, they all played great, but I am glad I got the win.”

Lewis Stephenson won the Senior Division after two rounds in red figures. Stephenson was seven shots behind the leader to start the final round. He rolled in nine birdies on his way to a stellar 6-under 66. This was Stephenson’s first West Texas Amateur title. He also won the 2018 Texas Senior Amateur.

Doug Hopton-Jones won the Super-Senior Division by three strokes and at 5-over 221. The 2019 defending champion adds this win to his 2019 and 2002 West Texas Amateur titles.

In Contention: Jansen Smith of San Angelo posted a 6-under 210 for the championship and finished solo second. Michael Heidelbaugh of Dallas finished at 4-under 212 to take third. Robert Johnson of Abilene, Collin Clark of Midlothian and Bryce Waters of Midland tied fourth at 2-under 214.

What’s Next: The 2020 season continues with the Texas Mid-Amateur Match Play at Willow Brook Country Club in Tyler July 23-26. You can view the entire Texas Golf Association calendar here.

More Info: The Texas Golf Association extends its sincere appreciation to the staff and members of Bentwood Country Club as well as our volunteers for their integral part in making the 92nd West Texas Amateur a memorable and successful event. For more information on the West Texas Amateur, click here.